Annual General Meeting

5:30 PM – 6:00 PM, Thursday 30th November 2023 Marjoribanks 1.26 Santos Lecture Theatre (Entry from Nexus 10, The University of Adelaide)



Minutes

Meeting Convenor: Michael Cook

1. Welcome and introductions

- Quorum reached. Meeting opens at 5:30 PM.
- MC gives an acknowledgement of country.

2. Formal Items

a. Apologies received from Angela Bogdan, Benjamin Cherry-Smith, Adrianna Espejo-Sanchez.

3. President's report

See attached: Appendix 1

4. Treasurer's report

See attached: Appendix 2

5. Questions to council members

No guestions received.

6. Proposed resolutions

- a. Resolution: Acceptance of AllA SA Branch financial statements
 - i. Moved by Ngoc Lan Tran.
 - ii. Seconded by Michael Sullivan.
 - iii. Resolution approved.
- b. Resolution: Acceptance of President's Report.
 - i. Moved by Ngoc Lan Tran.
 - ii. Seconded by Michael Sullivan.
 - iii. Resolution accepted.
- c. <u>Resolution</u>: Undertake a review of Branch Rules and notice to hold a Special General Meeting for their approval and seek incorporated status, as appropriate.
 - i. I move that the Branch undertake a review of its Rules with the intention of attaining incorporated association status in 2024. This would include consultation with financial members on proposed amendments to the Rules, as well as the holding of a Special General Meeting to approve the updated Rules and move resolutions related to attaining incorporated association status in early 2024 or as appropriate.
 - ii. Moved by Michael Cook.
 - iii. Seconded by Ngoc Lan Tran.
 - iv. Resolution accepted.

7. Election of council members

- a. Nominations received from:
 - i. President (1): Michael Cook;
 - ii. Vice President (1): Dr Michael Sullivan;
 - iii. Treasurer (1): Ngoc Lan Tran;
 - iv. Secretary (1): Ngoc Lan Tran;
 - v. Event Coordinator (1): Dr Gerry Groot;
 - vi. **General Councilors (5):** Angela Bogdan, Joseph John, Dr Maryanne Kelton, Rev Dr Jane Lee-Barker, Marylene Viloria-Viola.
- b. Withdrawal of Benjamin Cherry-Smith noted.
- c. Announcement of election results
 - i. All are elected unopposed.
- d. Resolution: Acceptance of election results for the AIIA SA Council 2024
 - i. Moved by Ngoc Lan Tran.
 - ii. Seconded by Joe Andrews.
 - iii. Resolution accepted.

8. Close